From analysis to function

Hey peps!

In my last post, I’ve promised I’ll get back to you with a brief description of how I got from the concept to the function of my proposal.

As my tutor is keen on emphasising, I’m not always particularly clear in explaining my thoughts. This probably has something to do with me being a messy kid, with ideas flying all over the inside of my head. What happens to me quite often, is that I start stressing upon one topic and end up miles away debating on something else, without finishing the initial idea. Does this ever happen to you? Or is it just me being ‘special’?

Right, enough small talk and back to the important parts (See!! I’ve done it again). As I have mentioned in the previous post, on the narrative of a project (check it out here if you haven’t read it already ), the starting point for my concept finds itself rooted somewhere in the industrial past of Leeds.

Therefore, having started to explore particularities of the city, lait-motifs (posh word to make me sound more intelligent hihi) found in its urban fabric, I came across a quite interesting aspect. Everywhere you go within the city, the same compositional element keeps showing up. This element is that of the CLOCK! Apparently, during the industrial blooming of the city, a skilled clock maker managed to express  his talent beyond his atelier, large scale projects around the city (and not only) becoming his speciality. Therefore, even today, his work stands out within the city, reminding the passer-by’s about his glorious days, and with it, the industrial times of the city. (- If you want to find out more, check out William Potts and Sons).

Image

Sooo, having explained how the idea of the clock got into my concept (hope it makes sense for you guys…it does for me, but.. you know :P) I’ll move on to explaining how the function of my proposal has bloomed.

Moreover, this lait motif manages to connect the two architectural worlds that resulted after the industrial revolution has left its imprint on the city. With its industrial, mechanical substance running through the modern city, as well as working as a tourist attraction in newly developed squares, Potts’ clocks represent the nucleus of the movement towards achieving a more unitary fabric of the city.

I have mentioned above, that the motif of the clock represented, in my view, the starting point of an era in which elements of the city are brought together to form a coherent urban environment, connecting the old with the new. And here it is!! The sublayer of my concept!! My proposal shall function as a catalyst between industrial Leeds and modern Leeds, basically a scaled up version of one of Potts’ clocks.

Keeping this in mind, my venue shall function as a museum exhibiting some of WIlliam Potts work, as well as relevant machinery used in creating clocks and watches. However, I didn’t want to stop here, as a gallery exhibiting old goods is not always a place of interest for young people, and the ideas was to bring as many people as possible to the site, increasing the density of the area and therefore sealing the fracture of the urban fabric exemplified in the Little London area of Leeds. I wanted to bring something special, something that includes young people, something innovative and unique.

Image

And here comes the fun part!! It seems like the idea of a clock with its complicated, but logical, mechanism has not only captured my day-dreaming attention. It has also been the main attraction of a modernist movement called steampunk – ing. Basically what it does is use old/rusty materials or ways of manufacturing with new visions. The result is a collection of things that blend the modern and the anachronistic (ever so COOOL). And one technique that finds itself rooted in this movement is that of reusing clock/watch parts in creating some out of this world, kinkey thingies.

brainstorm_9

Therefore, the proposal shall include a number of gallery spaces that represent a processional route through TIME (…pointing out to the starting point-> the clock). You start by exploring the traditional and make your way towards the innovative…

Image

Quite proud of this…hope that everyone can see it through my eyes and see how one thing led to the other, resulting in the final proposal for the function of my building.

Hope you guys enjoyed reading this!

Keep in touch,
Cali M.

P.S. You can see more visual of this project on Behance.

One thought on “From analysis to function

Leave a Reply

